Wednesday, May 6, 2009

Can we trust our government?

I know we have all heard the 9/11 conspiracy theories and other seemingly outrageous accusations against our government ranging from concealing a Roswell incident to attacks on groups such as the Black Panthers. Now I have become more skeptical of our government since going through college but it has always seemed hard to believe that our government would ever want to harm innocent civilians. It has become easier to believe under the Bush administration and not seemed so outrageous that the American people could be harmed for the agenda of an administration.

Before anyone starts looking at me as a disloyal American who doesnt love his country please read further. I was recently listening to a podcast in which the Northwoods Papers were mentioned. This operation was planned by the Joint Chiefs of Staff in 1962 and basically called for US attacks on our own innocent civilians and military persons so that the US could blame the attacks on Cuba and have a reason to go to war with the support of the American people. The article can be found here: http://abcnews.go.com/US/story?id=92662

This is not entirely unbelievable to me after living through the past 8 years. However, what is unbelievable to me is the fact that I have not known about these papers until a couple days ago. I consider myself an educated adult but I just recently found out about this. I think this is something every citizen should know about. I wonder what else is being concealed by the government that the rest of the public does not know about. Just knowing that this was an idea of members of our government should lead us all to have some skepticism in our government. I think some skepticism is good and it will allow us to put more pressure on our government in the future for transparency. Our population is not involved enough and we need to educate ourselves on these matters because it is our responsibility. It will only make our country better.

Thursday, April 9, 2009

YOU ORDERED A SMALL

I rarely eat fast food anymore, and when I do I never order combos and stick to the dollar menu or other individual items. Yesterday I was starving and had to get something really quick for breakfast and decided to get a breakfast meal from Burger King. The meal said it costed $3.99 on the drive thru menu but they asked me what size I wanted. I said I wanted a small size figuring that that was probably the 3.99 price. When I pull up to pay this is how the convo goes:

Lady- "That will be $5.88"

Me- "$5.88? The menu said it was $3.99"

Lady- "YOU ORDERED THE SMALL"

Me- "I know. So why are you charging me MORE for the small?"

Lady- "The small costs MORE. You should have said you wanted the value size (like I am an idiot for not knowing this)"

Me- "Just give me whatever is $3.99 like it says on the menu"


What has happened to all these fast food joints? It now costs MORE to get something thats considered a small size? Value size is supposed to be extra small and everyone is supposed to know that? Why cant things be like back in the day when you ordered a meal and they didn't ask what size you want, they just gave it to you at the same price every time. If anything, the only thing they asked was "Did you want to supersize that?" All you had to say was yes or no. You didn't have to invent creative names for different sizes. Things were so simple back then.

Screw Burger King

Wednesday, April 1, 2009

I am soo with the guy wanting these requirements

http://www.cnn.com/2009/POLITICS/03/31/jobless.benefits/index.html

I read this article this morning and found it very interesting. It talks about whether or not states should drug test their citizens that recieve welfare, foodstamps, and unemployment benefits. If they fail a drug test then they have 2 months before the next test to get sober and pass so they can continue recieving their benefits.

I am all for this, with the exception of unemployment benefits. People on welfare or foodstamps that do very little to contribute to our system, and do more to exploit it should be required to be clean and we should have the right to use our means to make sure the money is not being spent on drugs, which the testing could do.

However, for unemployment, I don't think people should be tested. To recieve unemployment benefits a person must have had to have been previously employed. This means that they were paying into the system and putting money towards unemployment insurance the whole time they were working. These people are entitled to that money regardless of whether or not they are on drugs because they paid for that insurance benefit during the years they worked. People on welfare do not.

The argument was also made in the article that we should drug test people at companies like AIG or GMC that the US has bailed out because they are recieving government funding. I completely agree with this too. Those who take free money from taxpayers should be required to meet certain standards to recieve that money. And requiring that they be drug free is fine with me. I don't care who you are, a welfare recipient or a multibillion dollar company. If you take handouts from our government ,you should be required to do whatever our elected officials and the taxpayers deem appropriate to recieve those funds. If you don't like the rules then don't take the money.

What do you think?

I may have screwed up my SA trip!

I was flipping through channels today and came across a show based off the book "1,000 Places To See Before You Die". The place that they were focusing on was Machu Picchu in Peru. Naturally, if one is lucky enough to visit one of the 1,000 places that must be seen before they die, they are going to want to do it right. Since I know I wont be able to see all of the 1,000 places before I die, I want to make sure I do each place I can see right. When I was in Peru I went on tours with a guide the first couple days throughout Cusco and the surrounding ruins and into the Sacred Valley. When it came to Machu Picchu I chose to pass on those tours and go through Machu Picchu on my own becaus the guides were boring and the other tourists would ask some of most stupid questions ever. I hated waiting for those people. Even though I decided to go to Machu Picchu on my own, I still could have gotten a private tour guide. I chose not to because I wanted to hike to the top of Waynu Picchu, which is the tall Mt. behind the ruins.













This is a picture of me with the view at the top of Waynu Picchu.




This is a picture that shows Waynu Picchu and where I was.








Now in the entire episode of the show they did not say you have to do this or you have to do that. Not until they got to Machu Picchu that is. Do you know what they said you had to do and is an absolute must at Machu Picchu? Nope, it was not hiking to the top of Waynu Picchu. They said you HAD to get a tour guide to take you around and show you everything! So the one thing I HAD to do when I was there, according to this show, I decided not to do haha. Now I really hope those people are as dumb and lame as they look and sound because that would suck if I did not do the ONE thing that was a MUST at Machu Picchu. Hopefully the only reason they said that was because they didn't go on the hike to Waynu Picchu. Otherwise, I have an excuse to take another trip to South America ;)

Monday, March 23, 2009

Bienvenido!

Look who finally decided to post... I am not quite sure why I created this blog a couple months ago but for some reason I never posted anything. I was probably feeling bored with life and going through the on again off again "quarter life crisis." It was weird. Throughout my life I never had any complaints with life and was always satisfied. Just before the end of college I had it all: a bunch of friends around and in the area, job offers, classes for half the week, a newborn nephew, and the "perfect" girlfriend. Fast forward a few months later, I have been working for a few months and already gotten sick of it, friends dispersed, and the girl of my dreams moved 9,000 miles away. Basically, a year and a half went by with me just going through the motions of life. Waking up, going to work, come home, go to sleep, and party on weekends and taco tuesday. Throw in a few highlights such as my trip to South America and Cancun as well as some trips to Vegas and SF and ont he surface my life was great. For some reason, I was not feeling fulfilled, as I am sure most people my age feel out of college. They want to take over the world and conquer everything in sight and when that does not happen it sucks. I thought long and I thought hard... What do I need to do to change the way I feel and am living life? The answer was sooo clear. All I had to do was.......







.....









....









...







...







BLOG!!!!





haha no thats not it. But I did come up with this theory. We live our whole lives with a set of almost predetermined goals. We do not really set these goals, but society sets them for us as the definition of success. Get good grades, graduate high school, get into college, get more good grades, graduate college, and then find a good job. Depending on your ambition and a number of other factors these goals can differ in a variety of ways, but ultimately, these are the kinds of goals our generation typically has had. I achieved all of the above and came to a point where society no longer had a path or set of goals laid out for me the way they were before. The next logical step would be to buy a home, find a wife, and mulitply till my penis no longer works. But I definitely do not want any of that any time soon, except maybe a house, which I plan on winning in next month's fundraiser raffle for one of the richest school districts in CA. The point is, I spent a year and a half coasting through life and waiting for goals to be handed to me rather than taking charge on my own. Before, these goals were laid out and everything I did, go to school etc., was for ultimate goal achieval. Graduate and get a job. I needed to set some goals for myself because those are what I truly think make us feel complete. I could shave a wooly mammoth and pick up its shit if I knew it was going to help me achieve a greater goal of mine. So I have created goals and as a result I have felt much more complete and fulfilled because I am looking at what I do as a pathway to the accomplishment of my goals, which is a great feeling. Here is the number one goal at the moment:



Get into an MBA program with USC and UNC being at the top of my list.



Steps to meet this goal: Take additional classes required before entering the program (currently taking accounting and Business Law). Take a GMAT class in the summer. Find opportunities that help me meet the mission statement of the fellowship I want to apply to.



If this goal is accomplished I have another goal to travel as much of the world as I can from the point at which I am accepted until I must return to start school.

Ladies and gentlemen, the old Dan is back, and I guess I will take you along for the ride with this blog thing.

I had to post this much to provide a background. Hopefully more of my posts will not be as boring and will have a more fun element to them. HOPEFULLY haha.


I just woke up and I'm back in the game, even asleep heard em screamin my name


Until next time