http://www.cnn.com/2009/POLITICS/03/31/jobless.benefits/index.html
I read this article this morning and found it very interesting. It talks about whether or not states should drug test their citizens that recieve welfare, foodstamps, and unemployment benefits. If they fail a drug test then they have 2 months before the next test to get sober and pass so they can continue recieving their benefits.
I am all for this, with the exception of unemployment benefits. People on welfare or foodstamps that do very little to contribute to our system, and do more to exploit it should be required to be clean and we should have the right to use our means to make sure the money is not being spent on drugs, which the testing could do.
However, for unemployment, I don't think people should be tested. To recieve unemployment benefits a person must have had to have been previously employed. This means that they were paying into the system and putting money towards unemployment insurance the whole time they were working. These people are entitled to that money regardless of whether or not they are on drugs because they paid for that insurance benefit during the years they worked. People on welfare do not.
The argument was also made in the article that we should drug test people at companies like AIG or GMC that the US has bailed out because they are recieving government funding. I completely agree with this too. Those who take free money from taxpayers should be required to meet certain standards to recieve that money. And requiring that they be drug free is fine with me. I don't care who you are, a welfare recipient or a multibillion dollar company. If you take handouts from our government ,you should be required to do whatever our elected officials and the taxpayers deem appropriate to recieve those funds. If you don't like the rules then don't take the money.
What do you think?
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment